STUPID Easy Sunday Chili

This post is going to be awfully snappy – like this chili recipe!  ðŸ˜‰

As I stated in my last post, I am a little fall obsessed.  I won’t lie.  I can’t lie.  So I love me a Sunday where the house is cozy, pumpkin candles are burning, football is on, and everyone stays in jammies all day.  One of my favorite things to make for dinner on Sundays are soups, stews, and of course, chili.  This one has all clean ingredients, organic if possible, and can be adapted to fit vegetarians, Paleo lovers, etc. depending on the ingredients added.  Here is the exact recipe that I followed to create this awesomeness…PS, I use Trader Joe’s brand everything for this. 

(Just a reminder if you are new to following me or my recipes, I actually HATE recipes. Everything is a “ballpark” or generalization. I’m Italian!  If you need more specifics, comment and I’ll assist you. 😘)

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. of 95/5 ground beef
  • 1 large green pepper
  • 1 large white onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 large jar or can of tomato sauce
  • 1 small can of black beans
  • 1 small can of red beans
  • palm full of sea salt
  • palm full of cumin
  • palm full of chili powder
  • palm full of paprika
  • palm full of oregano
  • palm full of 21 Seasoning Salute
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp. of EVOO

Directions

Heat the oil in a stock pot over medium high heat. Once oil is rippling, brown the beef.  There won’t be a ton of oil as you’re using a fairly lean protein, but drain off what you can. Return to the heat. Add the chopped pepper and onion and sauté until soft. Add the chopped garlic. Deglaze the pan with 1 cup of water (all this means is add the water and scrape the little cooked bits off the bottom of the pan).  Add everything else. Literally. Dump it all in there. Stir and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for as long as you want, but no shorter than an hour though. This is a wonderful dish to leave warm and feed people all day long. Just ensure to stir it every 10-15 minutes so the bottom doesn’t burn. 

Top with plain Greek yogurt, trust me, it’s better than sour cream!  And a little cheddar if you like.   

If you like this recipe, please comment below or share with someone else fall obsessed!  Are we friends on Facebook yet??  Let’s be!  Click HERE

Enjoy!

Ash

Leave a Reply

