Slow Cooker Zucchini Lasagna

Wow.  So I have been the biggest blog slacker in America.  Is that a thing?  Can I claim that?  It has been a long time since my last post, so my sincerest apologies.  I am hoping that once the summer months have come to a close, I can come back to a solid routine on many fronts.

Many things have been suffering this summer and its not just my blog.  I listened to a recent Chalene Johnson podcast that really opened my eyes to the importance of sleep and how little of it I actually get.  I average about 4-5 hours a night personally, which is absurd.  Hey, them kids aren’t going to raise themselves, right?

Chalene, who uses science-based research in her podcasts, which is just another reason why I love her, spoke about how she had a recent brain scan that showed that lack of sleep had had a negative effect on her brain.  Lack of sleep had literally caused brain damage.  We think that the “hustle” is doing nothing to us – we will sleep when we are dead.  But in all honesty, it is so necessary.  Sleep is the only time that we rest our brains and give them time to detox as our brains are the only bodily system that does not have a built in mechanism to rid itself of crap and recharge.  Sleep is THAT mechanism.

I am using September as a time to return to taking care of myself fully.  Sleep, nutrition, hydration, and fitness.  The whole shabang.  Once Kennedy begins school and my work schedule changes, I think that it will be a perfect month to really focus on my health and the health of my family.

In order to help me organize and prep meals, I am looking for and developing recipes that will help me feed myself and the fam quickly and easily while eating well.  Sound like a feat?  It can be done!  I really love my slow cooker for stuff like this.  Meal prepping is also essential.

I had an influx of zucchini this week from my father’s garden, so I wanted to do something to use it all up in one swoop as I didn’t want to give it a chance to go south.  All of the zucchini lasagna recipes that I found still used noodles and were a bit too complicated – so I fixed it.  = )

SLOW COOKER Zucchini Lasagna

Ingredients

  • 2 Large Zucchini
  • Jar of Good Red Sauce or Homemade
  • Large Container of Part-Skim or Whole Milk Ricotta Cheese
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 Cups of Parmesan Cheese (Divided)
  • 4 Cups of Part-Skim or Whole Milk Shredded Mozzarella
  • 3-4 Tbsp. of Salt-Free Italian Seasoning
  • Sea Salt and Pepper to Taste

Directions

In a mixing bowl, mix together the container of ricotta, 1 cup of parmesan cheese, 2 eggs, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, until full incorporated.  Set aside.

Prep your zucchini by slicing them into thin, flat strips lengthwise.  These will take the place of your typical pasta layer.  Put a thin layer of red sauce in the bottom of your crock pot.  DO NOT FORGET THIS.  If you do, your bottom layer of zucchini will bake onto the bottom of your slow cooker and will never come off!

Begin your layers.  Zucchini, ricotta mix, shredded mozzarella, sauce.  Depending on the size of your slow cooker and size of your zucchini, you should have 4-6 layers.  End your final layer with shredded mozzarella and the remaining cup of the parmesan cheese.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Allow it to set for 30 minutes after you turn off the slow cooker in order to make cutting and serving easier.  = )

Enjoy!

Zucchini Lasagna Edited

Also, if you want to join me in getting back to basics this September CLICK HERE and we can connect!

XOXO,

Ash

Leave a Reply

