How to Make the PERFECT Shredded Chicken

Yes.  I have neglected you.  And yes, I am sorry.

Now that we got that out of the way…

The state of busy and overwhelm that I have been in over the past few weeks has been suuurious.  I have been borderline neglecting my workouts, but have gotten super diligent about my meal prep as of late.  If you are not being as consistent with your workouts, you best believe you better be on your nutrition.  This has ended up helping a ton – 2-3 hours on Sunday affords me around an extra hour daily during the week.

Finding a quick and easy way to get proteins prepped and into your bod is one of the practices I tout.  Animal proteins are typically what takes the majority of the time during meal prep because they take the longest to cook.  I like to cook my proteins fully while meal prepping so all they require is a quick reheat during the week.

I have been loving using shredded chicken.  It’s perfect for salads or inside soups and casseroles.  This week I used it to make a Chicken Alfredo Quinoa Bake (recipe coming soon), Avocado Chicken Salad, and Brookefit’s Buffalo Chicken Salad.

Here is how I make the PERFECT shredded chicken…

Ingredients

  • 1.5-2 lbs. Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 2 c. Low-Sodium Organic Chicken Broth
  • Palm Full of Oregano
  • Palm Full of Basil
  • Palm Full of Garlic Salt
  • Palm Full of Smoked Paprika
  • Ground Black Pepper to Taste

Directions

Clean/trim chicken and line the inside of your crockpot.  Top with spices and chicken broth.  Cook on high for 4-5 hours on or low 7-8 hours.  Remove the chicken once done cooking and shred with two forks.

FullSizeRender

Enjoy!

Ash

Leave a Reply

