Paleo “Fried” Chicken Strips

My husband is in sales, therefore, evenings of “entertaining” and attending events often happen. (Insert annoyed emoji here). Granted, this is how our family survives (because it certainly isn’t on my non-profit salary), so naturally, I deal. He works extremely hard and I am certainly grateful for his efforts so I reciprocate with my mommy grind.

These past weeks in particular, I’m on my own almost every night with our two little cherubs 2.5 year-old Kennedy and 1 year-old Hudson. Before I decided to clean up my lifestyle, I would frequently feed my children a meal of healthy “kid food” and would either share their Mac & Cheese (albeit organic) or go without dinner until they were peacefully asleep – where I would then gorge myself on cheese and crackers and an adult beverage. These nights are the hardest ones for me to stick to healthier ways as I often crave a return to my past. Plus, who likes cooking for themselves and two small children?? It can seem like a wasted effort especially when your time is better spent wrangling and caring for the aforementioned toddlers.

In order to keep myself accountable and amp up my game for my kids, I have been trying to make things that are Paleo that I know they will love and readily eat. Even though we are blessed with wonderful eaters, we are not unfamiliar with the dinner time stand off; or Battle Royale, depending on the mood of the little imps. When having to do our entire routine with no backup, I certainly don’t want to bite off more than I can chew (pun intended) with fighting them to eat. My newest creation was a hit…

Paleo “Fried” Chicken Strips

Ingredients
2-3 (Depending on the Size) Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
2 Eggs Lightly Beaten
1/2 Cup of Coconut Flour
Palm Full of Sea Salt
Palm Full of Ground Black Pepper
Palm Full of Garlic Powder
Half Palm Full of Chili Powder
Half Palm Full of Cumin
Half Palm Full of Oregano

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees and prep your baking sheet with parchment paper. I only had aluminum foil, so I improvised. Prep the chicken by cleaning it of the extra fat, etc. and slicing it into tender-like strips.

2015/01/img_8923.jpg
Crack the eggs into a shallow bowl and lightly beat them. Add the flour and spices to a gallon freezer bag.

2015/01/img_8922.jpgLightly coat the chicken strips with egg and shake off the excess. Add them to the bag. Once you have completed the process for all of the chicken, seal the bag and SHAKE! This is fun and an awesome job for your kiddo. I would have had pics of Kennedy doing this, but she was too interested in tormenting her brother to help me. Once they are coated, shake off any excess and lay them on the parchment (or foil). This is a perfect temp and time to roast some broccoli right along side. I buy the bags of florets from Trader Joe’s to save time and coat them with a little extra virgin olive oil and sea salt and ground black pepper.

2015/01/img_8924.jpg I added a little EVOO on the strips to crisp them up as well. Bake them for about 10-12 minutes, then flip them and bake for an additional 12-15 minutes. Test for internal temperature of 165 degrees.

2015/01/img_8925.jpg

2015/01/img_8926.jpg Mine, I served over a spinach salad with apples and balsamic vinaigrette. Kennedy’s was served almost the same, just separated (another annoyed emoji) and with ranch to dip her chicken. Hudson’s was served almost the same and separated also, but with organic ketchup to dip. PS, Hudson was the messiest eater until I discovered Boon bowls. They deserve a shout out.

2015/01/img_8927.jpg

2015/01/img_8928.jpg

2015/01/img_8929.jpg

2015/01/img_8930.jpgThe chicken also reheats well for leftovers, it just has less crunch obviously. I hope you and your family enjoy!

– Ash

16 thoughts on “Paleo “Fried” Chicken Strips

Leave a Reply

