Winter Faves

Winter Faves

So there are a few things that I cannot help but love for the holidays…Being a mom, it is well-known that kids are expensive (like, bleed you dry expensive) and 98.99% of your money goes toward caring for them (as well as your home, aka. adulthood blows). That being said, it doesn’t leave a ton of money to be spent on Mommy. My typical limit for staple pieces that I will wear over and over is about $50.00 – meaning that’s my diehard limit that I cannot cross and I attempt to stay way below that. Trendy pieces that are seasonal and may be “out” the following year, I usually try to spend no more than $25.00. Shoes, handbags, and outfits for special occasions are in different category. I am also a huge cheapskate when it comes to accessories and cosmetics. I love the Target brand Elf and brand NYX – many items are around $3.00 to $6.00, which is especially awesome if you want to try something new or outside of your comfort zone. Which brings me to…

1.) Berry Lips – From raspberry to plum, they are flattering on all ethnicities and skin tones. It is also a refreshing change from the typical red lips – not that I’m hating on a red lip, cuz I love me a red lip, forreal.

NYX Butter Lipstick in "Hunk"
NYX Butter Lipstick in “Hunk”

2.) Sparkle and Embellishment – I LOVE all of the bejeweled sweatshirts that are so “in” as of late. There is nothing better than looking dressed up, but being comfy – which is my daily goal. I’m waiting for the above sequin t-shirt from J. Crew Factory to hit rock-bottom price – then she will be mine.

3.) Emerald Green – Why is red always the go-to color for the holidays?? What did red ever do to become so special?? Green is just as cute as red. Green is just as smart as red. (#meangirlsreference). I will be celebrating the beauty of emerald green this season. Because it’s gorge.

4.) Faux Fur – Vests, coats, scarves, snoods, I love them all. Wear it daily. Ground it with a simpler piece or something slightly masculine to avoid the Zsa Zsa Gabor effect.

– Ash

Leave a Reply

